Add to my wishlist

British instrumental kings evolved from the Five Chesternuts to become Cliff Richards backing group, The Drifters. By late 1958 the line-up had settled and they were to change their name to the Shadows to avoid any confusion with the American Drifters. The line-up was Hank B. Marvin, Bruce Welch, Jet Harris and Tony Meehan. Not long after backing Cliff Richard on his first single, they were signed as a group by EMI Columbia’s A&R manager Norrie Paramor. After two singles under their old name the Drifters came the vocal ‘Saturday Dance’, which didn’t make any impression with the buying public. It was in 1960 that things took a huge step forward when they met up with singer /songwriter Jerry Lordan who gave them the finest instrumental of the era ‘Apache’ and became a UK number 1, topping the charts for six weeks as well as being voted single of the year by much of the music press. Establishing the Shadows in their own right especially as they had knocked Cliff’s ‘Please Don’t Tease’ off the top spot. They went on to be a huge influence on a new generation of groups that were to follow. The instrumental hits continued with number 1’s ‘Kon-Tiki’, ‘Wonderful Land’, ‘Dance On’ and ‘Foot Tapper’ as well as other top ten hits ‘The Frightened City’, ‘FBI’, ‘Guitar Tango’ and ‘The Savage’. Despite all the chart success both Tony Meehan and Jet Harris would leave the group to be replaced by drummer Brian Bennett and bassist Brian Locking.

The Shadows continued to chart in 1963 and 1964 although the Mersey Beat boom had taken hold. They continued with Cliff and appeared in films, and their place in pop history assured they continued have a successful career over the decades to follow. With a career spanning five decades they became part of the U.K. Pop institution and a massive influence on generations of budding guitarists. It is these early days that this collection shines a spotlight on with those wonderful early EPs. For many they were mini LPs before the expensive LP became the norm.The two tracks included from The Drifters before the name change were on two of Cliff’s early EPs featuring 3 Cliff and one Drifters track. Cliff No.2 EP featured ‘Drifting’ and Expresso Bongo EP featured ‘Bongo Blues’ both from 1959.The first of The Shadows EPs featured includes all four tracks from ‘The Shadows’ 1960 EP.These four powerful offerings included ‘Shotgun’ and two haunting and dramatic film theme sand a new composition ‘Mustang’ from Jerry Lordan who also wrote their No.1 hit ‘Apache’.This is followed by all four tracks from ‘The Shadows To The Fore’ released in early 1961 andfeatured 4 top ten singles including the #1 hit ‘Apache’. Next up comes their early 1962 EP‘Spotlight On The Shadows’ which featured another three top ten hits including another #1with ‘Kon-Tiki’. All four tracks are included and as well as showcasing the Shadowsinstrumental virtuosity but also the composing talent of their recording manager, orchestra leader / arranger Norrie Paramor, who penned three of the tracks – two of which were also top ten hits. Following fast on the heels of the previous 1962 EP came The Shadows No. 2,although all the tracks were first published in 1961 and all four are included. Whatever next? Yep! ‘The Shadows No.3’ and all four tracks feature here from this 1962 collection. 1962 alsosaw the release of ‘The Wonderful Land Of The Shadows’. All four tracks are again featuredand include yet another #1 hit - also penned by hit maker Jerry Lordan. Also includes the Bsidesof the hits FBI (’Midnight’) and Kon-Tiki (‘36-24-36’) plus ‘The Stars Fell On Stockton’the b-side of ‘Wonderful Land’. Between August 1960 and the early months of 1962 the phenomenal success story of The Shadows had turned full circle. It began when they topped the charts with the huge seller ‘Apache’ a worldwide hit written by Jerry Lordan. In March 1962 they were back at the top of the charts with another Lordan composition. The EP cover is the first to feature the newly arrived Brian - Locking and Bennett on the sleeve. All four tracks from ‘The Boys’ EP as featured in the film starring Richard Todd, Robert Morleyand Felix Aylmer. The front cover shot is a production still from the set of the film. Finally we managed to squeeze two tracks from the ‘Dance On With The Shadows’ EP. Included are yetanother #1 hit ‘Dance On’ from December 1962 and the Welch and Marvin composition ‘All Day’ the ‘b-side’ of the above and both tracks featured on the 1963 EP.These ‘Extended Play’ sides will evoke nostalgic memories, not only from the music of the daybut fond memories of the EP’s they came from.


1. Driftin’ (As The Drifters)

2. Bongo Blues (As The Drifters)

3. Mustang

4. Theme From Shane

5. Shotgun

6. Theme From Giant

7. Apache

8. Man Of Mystery

9. The Stranger

10. F.B.I.

11. The Frightened City

12. Kon-Tiki

13.Peace Pipe

14. The Savage

15. Shadoogie

16. Nivram

17. Baby My Heart

18. See You In My Drums

19. All My Sorrows

20. Stand Up And Say That!

21. Gonzales

22. Big Boy

23. Wonderful Land

24. Midnight

25. Stars Fell On Stockton

26. 36-24-36

27. Theme From “The Boys”

28. The Girls

29. Sweet Dreams

30. The Boys

31. Dance On!

32. All Day

No customer comments for the moment.

Only registered users can post a new comment.